Mille-crepe Cake

The Slice

A double whammy for y’all today! Extra cooking courtesy of my bottomless stomach. I’ve been wanting to make this particular dessert for a lonnnnng time, ever since I read Yumeiro Patissiere. They made a cake called a “mille-crepe cake” in the manga, and I knew I wanted to give it a try.

I found a lovely keto crepe recipe here and followed it. The only thing I’d like to add to it is to give a step-by-step instruction for the crepe – they’re finicky little things and break very easily, but hopefully my explanation will make it easier. :) I also whipped up some nice frosting for the cake too, but I’m excluding cocoa powder from this recipe because honestly, I didn’t like the chocolate in the cake. I’m strongly suspecting it’s the cocoa powder I’m using, because I haven’t made a single baked good that I enjoyed from that cocoa powder. Boooooo. But due to the nature of the crepe, I strongly suggest having a plain whipped cream icing. But hey, I’ll post some pictures of my cake… cause I made it. So why not?

Frosted and Dusted

The crepes themselves were very good! And the smell they gave off while cooking…. mmmmmm. This recipe should make about 6-8 crepes, depending on how liberal you are with your batter.

Ingredients

(makes 6-8 6″ crepes, 2 servings)

  • 2 oz (1/4 block) cream cheese, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • oil/butter for greasing pan

Frosting:

  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

In the pan

Soften cream cheese in microwave. Mix all ingredients until well-combined – the batter should be fairly liquid.

Heat a small pan to about med/med-high (adjust as the crepes come along). Wait until pan is warm, then grease bottom of frying pan with a paper towel dipped in oil. Spoon about 2 tbsp batter in the pan and quickly rock the pan so the batter is evenly distributed. Watch the edges. When the edges begin to brown (about 1-2 minutes), gently loosen the edges by scraping inwards, then flip the crepe over and cook for another 30 seconds or so. Remove crepe from pan. Re-grease the pan with the paper towel for every crepe.

For the frosting, whip cream, vanilla and Stevia on highest setting (or use those forearm muscles) until stiff peaks hold. Frost thinly between each layer. I actually cut my crepe into quarters to have more layers from one batch! After frosting, chill in the fridge to let the crepes absorb the moisture from the frosting, preferably overnight. Serve when you’re ready!

I like to flip the crepes with a pair of chopsticks and my fingertips – no hard edges and easier to keep the crepes together. If you have a flat pan, it would definitely be easier to use a spatula, but my pan is unfortunately small and curved; however it’s perfect size for these crepes!

The Stack

Nutrition

(1 serving is half the batter – approx. 3-4 crepes)

Nutrition

Leave a comment